britt goes viral

The Internet is a strange place.
—-
You may recall my mention of a short film project I was shooting with Chris R. Wilson of We’ll Fix It In Post Productions in my last post. The film starts out with this introduction: “Cleverbot.com has been touted as one of the most advanced artificial intelligences ever. The website allows users to chat with the A.I. Cleverbot. But how good is it, really? I sat down with Cleverbot and collaborated on a movie script. What follows is a movie written by a machine.”
—-
Chris emailed me about this idea on a Wednesday night while I was pleasantly tipsy enjoying a Backfence PDX event with my friend Suzzane. The whole concept sounded hilarious to me at the time. Or maybe the booze made it seem like a funnier idea than Sober Britt would have thought. But whatever, I promptly emailed back, “I’m in”. Thank you, two pitchers of McMenamins Ruby Beer.
—-
We woke up early that Saturday morning and drove out to a forest East of Portland in the freezing cold. We put on crazy costumes, talked in crappy English accents and exclaimed complete nonsensical dialogue while hikers looked back at us in shock at a distance. The six of us shared a bag of Lays chips (thanks, craft services!) and I mistakenly sat on Zach Persson’s PB&J sandwiches (which he’s probably now selling on e-Bay) and we successfully wrapped in a few hours. It was rad.  ‘Twas a perfect Saturday to run around in the woods with your friends doing crazy shit. I drove home happily afterwards to a warm shower and a three-hour nap.
—-
But what came of all this was kind of insane.
Our little video about artificial intelligence blew up and in under a week achieved over 117,000 views and was written-up by popular blogs and news sites such as reddit, mashable, Daily of The Day, The Laughing SquidAnimal New YorkBuzzfeed, and The Huffington Post.

Cleverbot

Cleverbot his/herself even put us on the home page of their site! Hello! Nerd Alert!
Cleverbot Home Page
My favorite media quote reads: “Cleverbot wrote an amazing short film called “Do You Love Me”. It’s Academy Award material. And, Cleverbot? The answer is yes, obviously.” Thanks, Buzzfeed! Oh, Internet, where will you take me next?
187
Seriously, Interwebs, you be CRAY.
—-
So, at the risk of beating this video to death….here is this Virus of a Video in case you missed it. Cause you know what? Eff it. I am going to enjoy every second of this 15 minutes of fame. Once I move to LA, I may very well drop off of the grid and into the soul-sucking abyss that is the inner-circle of actor hell forever…Ever..everrr.. .(Echo echo)…
…just kidding.

Not kidding. Sort of kidding. Maybesortofkiddingidontknow. Whatever, Just WATCHIT.

And although the explosion of this video in Interweb-Land made me waste many an hour sitting at my desk at the ‘ol day job this week, I was up to some other shit besides Robot-Cinema as well:
My Week

Rehearsal and prep work for the feature-film Birds of Neptune have been keeping me pretty busy. As indicated by the photo below, I think I had a bit too much fun at our makeup/camera test this past Saturday:

Molly Elizabeth Parker & I are sisters in real life, apparently.

Molly Elizabeth Parker & I are sisters in real life, apparently.

Seriously, we are escapees from the asylum in this one. Aaaand to cleanse your palate from that frightening image, here is a less-frightening one:
(c) John Campbell

Photo by John Campbell


I was also lucky enough to get back on the horse for NBC’s Grimm this week. I auditioned and got called back for a guest star who was… in her 30’s. Seeing as how I’m playing an 18-year-old in the movie I am working on currently, I have no idea how I come across in terms of age for casting anymore. Maybe this is a good thing. I don’t know. Mostly I am just constantly having an identity crisis. Typical actor.

In other news, the show I am producing with my theatre company (Theatre Vertigois in tech! I am so excited for The Velvet Sky to open this weekend. It is going to be a beautiful and jarring journey. And all y’all Portlanders should go see it.

Anywhoo… my mind is exploding with all of the crazy-awesomeness that is my life this week.
tumblr_inline_mg19idHdoj1rnbgkp
…Yup, kinda like that.
And all of this busy kind of makes me forget that I am living in a closet in my brother’s basement.
I’ll take it.

Best of luck in your journeys this week, my friends!
~Britt

5 thoughts on “britt goes viral

  1. Pingback: britt talks where to look for freedom | two evil actors

  2. Pingback: britt leaves her day job. | two evil actors

  3. Pingback: britt gets drunk on a spaceship | two evil actors

  4. Pingback: britt goes viral…. again! | two evil actors

  5. Pingback: dani and britt kicked 2013 in the face! happy 1st bday, Two Evil Actors! | two evil actors

Leave a Reply

