britt leaves her day job.

Today… is a big deal.

I am leaving my day job to…–GASP–… ACT FULL TIME! And then… move to Los Angeles.

Yes, folks, it’s true. WHAT GOLD I HAVE STRUCK!

Let me explain.

I got a job at Artists Repertory Theatre doing the West Coast premiere of The Big Meal by Dan LeFranc. And let me tell you… I have never been so excited to do a play…EVER. The script is amazing, the cast is amazing, the director is amazing… I am on cloud nine. I cannot wait to get to work for our first rehearsal on Monday.

The Big Meal at ART

The Big Meal at ART

This show opens the beginning of September and runs through the middle of October. And then…! I am OUT. See ya, Portland, Hello Hollywood! (Read as: See ya, Moderate Stability, Hello, Poor-Britt-Living-Out-of-Her-Car-and-Only-Eating-20-Cent-Bananas!) It’s going to be rad.

Life is good. And scary. And uncertain. And thrilling. And EVERYTHING. And I love it.

ALSO! DANI returned home to LA today from her Grand India Adventure!!

TODAY IS SUCH A BIG DAY!!

Okay. I’m coming down off of my caffeine rush a little bit now, I promise.

So, I’m leaving my day job. And I’m kind of sad. I love my day job. I love the people, I love the place, I love how flexible they are with my hours and how understanding they are of my other commitments. I love how I can show up when I want, leave when I want, and– as long as the job gets done– no one seems to care. I feel very lucky. And am very grateful to have had this job for the past year and a half.

I had a going-away lunch party this afternoon.

Check this out:

photo

awww.

Awww!

Awww!

AWWWW!!!

AWWWW!!!

In case you can’t tell, this last photo displays the beautiful “Advice For When You Move to LA” cards that each of my co-workers bestowed upon me. It’s pretty brilliant shit. I am keeping them forever. In my wallet.

Some of my faves include:

~”Don’t mess with people who have bad pictures of you/wearing headphones do not make farts silent/enjoy the moment”

~”Lindsay Lohan and Amanda Bynes are NOT appropriate role models”

~”Don’t get on the highways during rush hour “(impossible)

~”Stay an Oregonian–don’t use an umbrella if it rains”

~”Protect the ‘Secret’ of Portland”

~”Eat more ‘choklit’ “

-“Make sure to get a cat to keep you sane…purrrr”

…Like I said, I love my coworkers.

I am genuinely sad to leave, but I am proud to make the first big step in moving forward with what I want in my life. And I know that making that step is seldom comfortable or easy.

Today I feel lucky, content, a little shaky, and very, very grateful. You’ve been good to me, reliable-office-job… you have been good to me.

See? Look! I am so happy! Look at me filing!

See? Look! I am so happy! Look at me filing!

I am also very grateful for the awesome crap that has been going on in my real world the past two weeks:

My (Past Couple) Week(s):

I have had excessive commercial auditions, ordered and printed my new headshots, got my reel cut (Thank you, Americonic Films!), and got a little more sleep than expected (…score).

 Also, The Tamer Tamed with Portland Shakespeare Project opened:

psp1

psp2

…And we’re having a lot of fun!

Clearly. I mean, look at us.

psp3

I shot a new short film with Chris R. Wilson (We’ll Fix It In Post Productions) of Cleverbot (Do You Love Me)/Bad Signs/James Vs. Reality fame:

(c) We'll Fix It In Post Prod.

(c) We’ll Fix It In Post Prod.

(c) We'll Fix It In Post Prod.

(c) We’ll Fix It In Post Prod.

I guarantee that this film is one for the books, people. I’m not going to give it away, but let’s just say you’ll be seeing a lot of this little short all over the interwebs soon. It will be epic. And I may be a bit of an idiot in it. We shall see. But regardless, this was–hands-down–the most entertaining shoot I have ever been a part of.

this will all make sense later. I promise.

this will all make sense later. I promise.

Speaking of Chris R. Wilson and his shenanigans, Cleverbot (Do You Love Me) was featured on Buzzfeed again! Seeing as I waste a shameful amount of my life on Buzzfeed looking at pictures of stoned cats and Things That Remind Me of My Childhood/ 90’s, it is crazy to see my face on there. And this happened not once, but twice! The first time (back in February) there was a thumbnail of my face at the top of the webpage in between a thumbnail of Miley Cyrus’s face and a thumbnail of Kate Middleton’s face. MIND=BLOWN. Aaaaaand… that was the high point of my life, folks! We can all go home now.

But seriously. I am going to go home now because I am about to leave my cubicle for the last time from the day job I (surprisingly) love. And that is a BOOOLD statement, coming from someone who has trouble sitting still.

Peace out, Office Job… it’s been real.

keep it classy, cubicle.

keep it classy, cubicle.

Thanks for reading, friends!

~britt

5 thoughts on “britt leaves her day job.

  1. Britt, good luck in LA! You don’t have to stay in your car, there’s a hostel in Santa Monica, just a couple of blocks from the beach! You don’t know me, but I’m a friend of your mom’s.

  2. Pingback: britt is a working actor | two evil actors

  3. Pingback: britt runs THE BIG MEAL at Artists Rep | two evil actors

  4. Pingback: dani and britt kicked 2013 in the face! happy 1st bday, Two Evil Actors! | two evil actors

Leave a Reply

