britt is a working actor

Oh my god ohmygod ohmygodohmygod, you guys… everyone…. Dani’s back!!! And I left my day job!! And I’m moving to Los Angeles!! Like, SOON!!

…And pretty much all things in life are magical. I mean, the world was gifted Shark Week AND a new episode of Breaking Bad and I am constantly hopped-up on Kombucha and free coffee I get at rehearsal. Need I say more?! My heart is happy and my head is full of to-do’s that I actually WANT to DO, and I wish that I didn’t require sleep so I can max out my days with Limitless Rad.

My weekly schedule right now is this: noon-6pm rehearsal, 6 days a week. Time before and after this is used for personal projects, misc. film work that comes up, WORKING OUT AND TAKING CARE OF MYSELF (gasp!! I’m even doing acupuncture?!!!), LA move prep and spending time with friends. You guys, I am living the dream. I am a working actor.

Okay– back up– record scratch moment– I hate that term. I dislike the term “working actor” as much as I dislike the terms “networking” and “moist”. I can’t really explain why, it just sounds pretentious and/or that I have something to prove. I don’t. I just don’t know how else to explain it. So! I will grit my teeth and proclaim to you, I am a working actor. And you know what? That’s pretty fucking hard to do in Portland, Oregon so I’m going to allow myself this cheesy moment. All though 2013, I’d say my income breakdown was 50/50 (acting income/accounting income) or 60/40, so to drop off the accounting part right before I make The Big Move feels pretty good. Cause god knows I’ll be working a million shitty jobs to survive once I get to Los Angeles.

So let me catch you up. This is what I have been up to the past week or so, my friends:

My Week:

This week brought the close of The Tamer Tamed with Portland Shakespeare Project. It was a fun, energetic last couple shows where, on my end at least, there was plenty of this:

PSP-TamerTamed-0384-130723-M

and some of this:

PSP-TamerTamed-0052-130723-Mand lots of this:

PSP-TamerTamed-0338-130723-M

and maaaaybe a little of this:

PSP-TamerTamed-0193-130723-M…that’s right, I’m an insane person.

Which brings me to my next topic. The 48 Hour Film Project. It was during this past weekend where I broke through to a whole new level of insanity when I was up working for 35 hours straight.

It went like this.

On Friday, I worked my last day at my day job:

Exhibit A: Feelin good so far.

Exhibit A: Feelin good so far. Adios, cubicle.

then went straight from the office to the kick-off event for the 48 Hour Film Race, where, clearly, I worked VERY hard:

Exhibit B: We picked sci-fi for our genre. And I drank cheap beer.

Exhibit B: We picked sci-fi for our genre. And I drank cheap beer.

I went from to the kick-off event to set, where I remained from 8pm Friday to noon Saturday. During this time, I “helped” with pre-production:

Exhibit C: This is me "helping" our screenwriter draft the best sci fi story the world has ever seen.

Exhibit C: This is me “helping” our screenwriter draft the best sci fi story the world has ever seen.

we shot all through the night:

Tired actor faces at 2am. When we wrapped our FIRST shot of the night. Oh boy.

Exhibit D: Tired actor faces at 2am. When we wrapped our FIRST shot of the night. Oh boy.

And after getting dirty from rolling around in an haunted warehouse, sprinting for my life at 6am for the benefit of an octocopter shot, and falling asleep on the toilet at 8am (not my finest hour), we started to capture the story we wrote:

Exhibit E: CINEMA.

Exhibit E: CINEMA.

And then, at noon last Saturday, on my 32nd hour, we wrapped the day and I headed straight to my 1pm call for the Portland Shakespeare Project show, where I felt a lot like this:

Exhibit F: WHAT THE FUCK IS GOING ON.

Exhibit F: WHAT THE FUCK IS GOING ON.

And yet… I somehow survived. And, dare I say, I MORE than survived. It’s like I had an extra energy/emergency-focus tank somewhere in my brain that I finally had access to tap into. I didn’t know I had that in me. I felt kind of invincible after all of that. And on that 35th hour, after curtain-call of the show, I headed promptly back to the green room backstage and fell the F asleep on the couch. After my nap I drove home and slept for like, a million hours. It was awesome. One of the top 10 sleeps of my life.

Now… things have been crazy but fanTASTIC. And after last weekend, my life has been on a more structured track as I started my new job at Artists Repertory Theatre!! This week marks the completion of Week 1 of the rehearsal process for The Big Meal, and I am having a blast. This play is SO FUCKING GOOD, you guys. I can’t even… I can’t even handle it. And just LOOK at how hot and awesome and amazing my new family is!!

The cast of The Big Meal.

The cast of The Big Meal.

…Told you. I am pretty jealous of myself right now. They are all beautiful people and I love them.

Oh!! And–in closing– I finally got my silly reel done after a million years of putting it off, so here it is! It is a bit (okay, maybe a LOT) CrazyPants, but what else would you expect from me? Enjoy!

https://vimeo.com/71462770

…And I don’t know why this vimeo is just showing up as a link right now, but I’ll fix it later. I gotta run. Anyway. Until next time!

I love you all!!

sharkweek,

~britt

One thought on “britt is a working actor

  1. Pingback: britt gets drunk on a spaceship | two evil actors

Leave a Reply

