britt goes viral…. again!

Things have been very exciting lately in Britternet Land. As you may recall from my last post, I got drunk in space for hundreds of thousands of people to see. 700,623 documented viewers–to be exact (as of 12pm, Sept. 4th, 2013)– have seen me galactic-ly sh*tknockered. This has been an exciting follow-up and response to Chris R. Wilson‘s first viral video, Do You Love Me/Cleverbot, which was featured in popular media outlets such as The Laughing Squid, The Huffington Post, and Buzzfeed. And, if you so desire, you can read about THAT whole epic saga HERE.

But enough of robots. Let’s talk about SPACE.

Let’s talk about… this GIF.

That’s right, I’ve been GIF’ed. That’s when you know it’s The Big Time. Thank you, Internet. Thank you.

I am so proud to be a part of this sloppy slurry Internet sensation! It was the most fun I have had on set, EVER, and I had the pleasure of having this crazy experience with some of my very dearest friends. We even had bottomless pancake meals made for us on set and had crew on “water duty” to be sure we didn’t pass out or get hung over. Now THAT’S professionalism. THAT’S dedication. THAT’S love. Shit just doesn’t get much more amazing than that.

This space journey seems to have taken on a life of its own overnight, so it has been a little difficult to keep up with (which is AWESOME), but here are some of the highlights:

We all got GIF’ed on Buzzfeed (and featured second after our handsome President!!),

When Obama is not dreaming of economic equality, he is dreaming of drinking in space.

When Obama is not dreaming of economic equality, he is dreaming of drinking in space.

We got this legit celebrity mention from none other that THE Damon Lindelof,

Legendary.

Legendary.

Are being featured on Japan’s Entertainment-Tonight-Equivalent Prime TV show: WOWOW,

Nothing is more legit.

Nothing is more legit.

And were featured on What’s Trending:

My other favorite highlights have been our mentions in The Huffington Post, MSN UK (that’s right, we got Microsoft!!), The Week, Daily of the Day, The FW, cnet, and this article from Giant Freakin Robot that quotes: “Drunk strangers are hard to corral, but drunk friends are almost impossible. That said, Kaylee (Britt Harris) and Gorgonzola (Kyle Smith) both looked like they could have pulled off being drunk at any job.” Thanks guys, that’s what I was goin for. DrunkBritt gets it DONE.

One of the most amusing points of this whole adventure for me has been the nerd-wars raging on the Internets over the legitimacy of our own drunkenness. In response to youtube comments we received such as: “this is the WORST drunk acting I have ever seen. I DON’T buy it”, this little blackmail was lovingly unleashed:

…Do you believe us now? 😉

But seriously. I can barely believe half the crap I’m doing right now. My life is so full of awesome. I am doing what I love with people I love in a city I love and have so much to look forward to. This past week alone has been making me absolutely giddy.

My Week:

I could not be more excited to open The Big Meal at Artists Repertory Theatre this Saturday. This show is a dream. It is my absolute favorite show I have ever worked on. Everyday I am blown away by the talent in the room and graciousness of the people. It is family. What a great family I have.

This past week we moved out of the rehearsal hall:

Pictured: Director Dámaso Rodriguez with actors Britt Harris, Scott Lowell, and Val Landrum

Pictured: Director Dámaso Rodriguez with actors Britt Harris, Scott Lowell, and Val Landrum

And into the theatre!

Photo by Owen Carey.

Photo by Owen Carey.

This week we have had one invited dress rehearsal and one preview… each with full houses. It felt pretty fucking rad. We still have some tweaking and strengthening to do, but this is such a solid show. I really think it will be well received. This story is so special to me. I want to share it with everyone. Even YOU!!

Okay… and on that note, off to rehearsal (and second preview!) I go. In the spirit of The Big Meal and StarDrunk:

eat well,

and drink responsibly.

In closing, I will leave you with the STARDRUNK, and Do You Love Me/Cleverbot, the video that started it all.

Cheers, my friends.

~britt

Leave a Reply

