britt runs THE BIG MEAL at Artists Rep

It’s been a while since we’ve caught up, friends. But I’ve been stuck in a world. A powerful, overwhelming, beautiful whirlwind of a world. 

Britt Harris, Andy Lee-Hillstrom, Val Landrum, Scott Lowell, Vana O’Brien, & Allen Nause (c) Owen Carey

…Yup, that’s the one. 

A world where I feel drunk all the time and throw my hands in the air like I just don’t care and wear pink sweaters.

THIS is the World of The Big Meal. 8 actors, 5 generations, and 26 characters… in 85 minutes. I’m not sure that I ever want this crazy carousel to end.

This incredible show opened on Saturday, Sept. 7th at Artists Repertory Theatre in Portland, OR as a West Coast Premiere. I have been rehearsing this show since August 5th (you may recall me gushing about it earlier during the whole rehearsal process). This play has been on my mind in my heart since the day I auditioned. It is very special to me and has changed EVERYTHING. I wish I could explain this in a way that makes sense on paper, but I can’t quite articulate it. It is too personal and too universal. Too simple and too complex. I don’t have the vocab to pinpoint what this story has meant to me and my life, and my growth and fulfillment as an artist and a human.

But I can say this: I found family.

We, as actors, are very lucky to find fast families in every cast we are a part of. But this one is truly something special.

I mean, just look at us.

So much FAM! (c) Owen Carey

Agatha Olson, Britt Harris, Allen Nause, Scott Lowell & Andy Lee-Hillstrom (c) Owen Carey

My fam. The cast and crew of The Big Meal.

My fam. The cast and crew of The Big Meal.

Disgusting, right? We are pretty fucking cute. And we love each other a whole helluva lot.

Meet my family:

4

Allen Nause, Vana O’Brien, Val Landrum, Scott Lowell, Andy Lee-Hillstrom, Britt Harris, Agatha (Gertie) Olson, & Harper Lea

I laugh and cry daily with these folks. I even laugh until I cry. Or laugh until I pee.

Speaking of– I documented some of my fave quotes during the rehearsal process of this show for your reading and judging pleasure. Enjoy.

-“So, I’m taking a picture here and he’s over there dying.” -Vana, “Woman #1”

-“Juice it up with your spit.”- Harper, “Boy”, 10-year-old castmate

-“Britt, Scott, you need to tighten up the Hand Work.”- Damaso, Director

-Butthole under the table” -Val (“Woman #2”) to Gertie (“Girl”, and other 10-year-old castmate)

-“Three-mouthed pitcher. That used to be my stripper name.” – Scott (“Man #2”), re: reading the tag on the water pitcher

-“FINGER BATTLE!” -Andy, “Man #3”

-“Asshole in the clear!” – Allen Nause, “Man #1”

-“Kegel up that scene.” – Chelle, our Stage Manager, to all of us, at different times

-“…And then you can go back to your wine cave.” -Damaso to Val

-“Do you have your Kegel Rewards Card?” -Andy

-“Oddly enough, I want to add more time to Group Love.” -Damaso

-Harper, to Vana: “What’s wrong with your eyes?” Vana: “I’m not wearing mascara.” Harper: “Oh.” Vana: “I know, I know, I look like a hamster.”

-“Let’s do less Skin Work”- Damaso, once again, to me and Scott

-Vana: “ET! Come home!!!” Scott: “Well, I guess we have to change all of the posters now.”

…And those were just the tame ones. Goddamnit, I love us.

Okay, okay, enough of the Big Meal lovefest. Let me catch you up on the other lifestuff that’s been making me feel warm and fuzzy inside.

My Past Few Weeks:

What a surreal blur this month has been. I am feeling so incredibly grateful and overwhelmed and busy and giddy and freaked out and full of love and just… Everything. All of the emotions. ALL of them.

Yeeesssss. So let me regale you with some of the highlights, hmmm?

Well, first off, let me just shout from this metaphorical mountaintop that I….. MOVE TO LA IN LESS THAN TWO WEEKS!! (Get ready, Dani and Suz!!)

…So there’s that.

And, of course, during this emo-month-blur, we opened The Big Meal at Artists Rep and enjoyed a splendid Opening Night Celebration! It was pretty fuckin rad.

Britt sandwich with the lovely Chelle Jazuk (Big Meal stage manager) and sexy Amy Newman

Britt sandwich with the lovely Chelle Jazuk (Big Meal stage manager) and the sexy Amy Newman (to appear onstage with ART later this season)

This past week I took another day-tip to Seattle for a couple of commercial callbacks (awesome podcasts + new music heaven = car nirvana. Take that, I-5),

and had a voiceover session for the film Goodbye, First Love at KBOO.

Inside the KBOO studio...

Inside the KBOO studio…

I also started going through, like, everything I own in anticipation for The Big Move. My rule is this: Anything that doesn’t fit in my Hundai Elantra ISN’T GOING. Period.

Inventorying my wall art. From L or R: "I Left Accountancy for Booze" poster, my Radiohead poster, and a show poster of me in a bikini. Pretty much Britt in a nutshell.

Inventorying my wall art: “I Left Accountancy for Booze” poster, my Radiohead poster, and a show poster of me in a bikini. Pretty much Britt in a nutshell.

…At least I can fit all of my wall-art in the trunk. #brittwin

Once the show opened, I went back to the office.

office

…it’s a trap.

Okay. So it’s not reeeeeeallly how I’d like to spend my last weeks here in Portland, but this sister needs the MONEY. STAT.

This past month I also had the honor to witness two of my very dear friends (finally, after 23 years!) get MARRIED!!

CONGRATS Gary and Jamie!!

CONGRATS Gary & Jamie!!

AND I had the honor of witnessing my cousin Charrise’s marriage to Nancy (finally–AGAIN!–after a decade!!).

CONGRATS Charrise & Nancy!!

CONGRATS Charrise & Nancy!!

This wedding was especially fun because I was able to spend quality time with my family in Tacoma, WA for the festivities! Can you tell we’re related?!

Fam!! Our generation is pretty damn hot.

Fam!! Our generation is pretty damn hot.

My little second cousin/niece/whatever, Tessa!

me and little Tessa!

I was lucky enough to go wedding dress shopping with the incredible Liz and the rest of the Evans clan. You wanna know how awesome my Evans family is? THIS awesome:

For those of you playing at home, Liz is wearing a bra on her head. Veils are a thing of the past.

For those of you playing at home, yes, Liz is wearing a bra on her head. Veils are a thing of the past.

Ahhh. Family. I’ve been thinking so much about family these days. My Big Meal family. My Portland family that I have built. The time I want to spend with family in Tacoma before relocating down South. I know that as I leave one family in the Pacific Northwest, I will be welcomed home to a new family that is already waiting for me in Los Angeles. I am one lucky girl. I am taking pieces of my chosen family with me, everywhere I go. And for that I am so, so grateful.

During this crazy and unpredictable time in my life, I could not be happier.

Love to you, my family and friends,

~britt

2 thoughts on “britt runs THE BIG MEAL at Artists Rep

  1. Pingback: britt goes from The Big Meal to The Big Move | two evil actors

  2. Pingback: dani and britt kicked 2013 in the face! happy 1st bday, Two Evil Actors! | two evil actors

Leave a Reply

