britt has homes in different area codes

Happy holidays everyone! Sorry, had to blow my GIF load before I could focus on typing a coherent sentence.

I am writing to you from my favorite high school hangout, Bertolino’s coffeeshop (open 24/7, bitches) in my hometown, Tacoma, WA. It is rainy as balls here. My plans include sleeping, eating, binge-watching Arrested Development on Netflix, sleeping, catching up on the five issues of Variety I haven’t read, and sleeping. Also, I’ve been alone a lot with my thoughts since being home.

Home?

I have so many different homes. Los Angeles, Portland, Tacoma… I know this comes with the territory of being a post-collegiate 20-something artist vagabond, but holy WOW. Some of the thoughts I have! I swear half the time I don’t know where I am, who I am, where I am going or where I want to go, what house I’m in when I wake up in the morning and what job I am going to that day. It’s a lot. But this life is what I choose and what I want. I want to take full ownership of that.

Up until a few weeks ago, I was really homesick for Portland, but now I am homesick for Los Angeles. It’s so funny how that shifts. I was lucky enough to be able to spend a quick weekend in Portland this month to shoot an episode of Random Acts and spend some quality time with my good friend Liz. The trip was very good for my soul. I can’t remember the last time I was able to completely relax for 24 hours. It was heaven. I slept in my old room in my best friend’s house that was beautifully decorated for Christmas, I had two cats and a dog to snuggle with, there was bottomless kombucha to consume, and I got to see my brother and some of my very dearest friends. Heaven! I needed that. And when Liz drove me to the airport at 4am on a Monday in the freezing 18-degree Portland winter weather, I was ready to go back to my new home.

New home!

Let me tell you more about my new home. When we first moved in, my “room” looked like this: photo And here is how it looks NOW: 1234 You like those classy make-shift walls and sheet-doors we discussed last time? Yeah, I like ’em too. We’ve been busy.

I’ve been busy.

My Few Couple Weeks:

The past few weeks have been a crazy blur of work, reconnecting with friends, parties, casting workshops, and glitter. I also wrapped up my audit of the Los Angeles District Court (because I am an all-around badass) and started a new job and quit said job on the same day (because I am an all-around badass).

As noted earlier, I flew back to Portland for a weekend to shoot an episode of the PNW webseries, Random Acts and spend quality time with my dear friend Liz. I flew back to LA after the trip at the crack of dawn to get to an audition on time, which made me feel kind of awesome. Awesome and sleep-deprived.

We had our first annual “A Very Ke$ha Christmas” themed party (and our first ever party in our new home). “A Very Ke$ha Christmas”, as in, this:

plus this:

to achieve this:

…but in a Christmasy sort of way. Just think of the unicorns as reindeer and the glitter as snowflakes.

It is safe to say that our sparkly extravaganza was a hit. What are the ingredients for throwing a hit LA party, you ask? Let me tell you.

1.) Decorate the house with the appropriate mix of Christmas and glitter.

2

 2.) Craft some vaguely Christmas and Ke$ha-themed signs.

3

3.) Have a Suz create some installation art.

4

4.) Sketchily make some sangria in a cooler with the “50% off” gallon of white wine you had at the house:

5

5.) Make the dress code bright colors, glitter, and anything with animals on it. If a guest shows up out of dress-code, proceed to glitter-bomb them. (Thank you Suz for the use of your craft-drawer glitter stash.)

1

6.) When you wake up in the morning to this, you know you have succeeded.

photo

Yup.

The past few weeks also brought SoCal Christmas parades in the 78 degree heat,

Merry.

Merry.

CHRISTMAS.

CHRISTMAS.

and the fabulous Christmas surprise of seeing the Broadway hit, Peter and the Starcatcher (THANKS, ScoLo!!). It was incredible.

These past few weeks have left me one happy Britt girl. Merry effing xmas.

I leave you now with my Scoreboard.

Scoreboard:

Number of agent/manager meetings: 2.2 Number of auditions: 2.1 Number of Parking Tickets: 0

Merry Christmas, Merry Christmas to all. photo

love, santa, & teddy bears,

~britt

2 thoughts on “britt has homes in different area codes

Leave a Reply

